GANI ADAMS - the 15th Aare Ona Kakanfo of Yoruba Land

13th January 2018 will remain a memorable day in the history of Yoruba race and indeed Nigeria as Otunba Ganiyu Adams became the 15th Aare Ona Kakanfo of Yoruba land.  He was installed in the ancient Oyo town by his majesty, Iku baba yeye, the Alaafin of Oyo, Dr. Lamidi Adeyemi.

Gani Adams did not just became the Aare on the platter of gold but really fought for the course of Yoruba culture and existence.  It all started like a joke when Gani and other youths decided to fight against maginalisation of Yoruba race.  He actually fought the war and God was in his side to have escaped many attempts at his life.  Many of his colleagues were not as lucky as he is.
Otunba Ganiyu Adams popularly known and addressed as Gani Adams was born on April 30, 1970 as a Nigerian. In Arigidi-Akoko in Akoko North West Local Government of Ondo State.

Not much was known of this no-nonsese easy going man until 1994 as a leader of Oodua Peoples Congres, a socio-cultural group founded to promote cultural existence of Yorubas.  The group asked for a sovereign state of Yoruba and in the process of this, there were wars and fights by government security.  The inspector General of Police then, Mr. Musiliu Smith declared him wanted as a result of deaths and killing in the process of establishing Oodua Peoples Congress. He was however arrested on 22 August 2001 but was later released after being held in prisons in Lagos, Abeokuta and Abuja.

It was a rough route to the highest chieftaincy title in Yoruba history by Otunba Adams.  Come 13th January, history repeat itself again as Gani is installed as the 15th Aare Ona Kakanfo of Yoruba land.

This title was given to the generalissimo, the war general during the old Oyo Empire.  He was to lead battles, fight wars, mobilise and of course train soldiers with the sole aim of conquering enemies.
This title was introduced hundreds of years ago to the Yoruba country by King Adjagbo, who ruled some hundreds of years ago.  It was informed by the need to fortify the ancient and pre-colonial army of old Oyo Empire.
The choice of this leader was never permanent to a family or clan as is the case of a town.  It has always been from place to place and many rituals and rites do precede the installation.  It was not a social title hence the rites. Holders of this title are normally stubborn and once installed, they don’t see the Alaafin again unless there is a war for them.  Whenever he go to war, he’s to return victorious or be brought home a dead person.

There have been 14th Aare Ona Kakanfo till date and they are as follows:
1.   Kokoro Igangan of Iwoye-Ketu
2.   Oyatope of Iwoye
3.   Oyabi of Ajase
4.   Adeta of Jabata
5.   Oku of Jabata
6.   Afonja l’aiya l’oko of Ilorin
7.   Tpyeje of ogbomoso
8.   Edun of Gbongan
9.   Amepo of Abemo
10.               Kurumi of Ijaye
11.               Ojo Aburumaku of Ogbomoso (he was Toyeje son)
12.               Aare Latoosa of Ibadan
13.               Ladoke Akintola of Ogbomosho (premier of Western Region during first republic
14.               Moshood Kashimawo Olabinwonnu Abiola of Abeokuta

15.               Otunba Gani Adams of Arigidi-Akoko

Post a Comment

Designed by olubamz |jpetersblog